Writing Contests

Congratulations to the recipients of the 29th Annual UCI Writing Awards!

The UCI Office of the Campus Writing & Communication Coordinator, the Composition Program, the Humanities Core Course, and the Department of English are thrilled to announce the winners of the 2021–2022 UCI Undergraduate Writing Contests.

The winners will be honored in a Writing Awards Ceremony on Thursday, May 12, 2022, from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. in Humanities Gateway 1030.

The John Hollowell Composition Program Awards

Best Argument Project Award

Sophia Topchiyan

Instructor: Emily Brauer Rogers, Lecturer, Department of English

Best Advocacy Essay Award


Niyati Reddy

Instructor: Patrick McBurney-Nicolay, TA, Department of English

Best Analysis Essay Award

Jack Demartino

Instructor: Bryce Lillmars, Lecturer, Department of English

The Nora Folkenflik Memorial Essay Awards

Best Essay in English 15


Sarah Takayama Yang

Instructor: Virginia Jackson, Endowed Chair in Rhetoric and Communication and Associate Professor, Department of English

Best Essay in Humanities Core Course

Colin Bolek

Instructor: Christine Connell, Lecturer, Humanities Core

The Humanities Core Outstanding Website Project in Multimodal Writing Award

Jonathan Le

Instructor: Larisa Castillo, Associate Professor of Teaching, Humanities Core


The Ariel Miranda Caldwell Memorial Short Story Award


Connor Gerald Smith

Instructor: Daniela Chavez, TA, Department of English

The Undergraduate Award for Excellence in Poetry


Katrina Gervais

Instructor: Adam De Petris, TA, Programs in Writing and Poetry, Department of English

The Bret Baldwin Memorial Poetry Award

Ta'hlia Davis

Instructor: Rebecca Schultz, Director of Writing 30/31 and Writing 90/91, Department of English

The Howard Babb Memorial Essay Award

Jackson Jordan

The Literary Journalism Writing Award

Margaret O’Hara

Instructor: Christopher Goffard, Literary Journalism, Department of English

The Scott Kaufman Memorial Writing Award

Kaye Bilbao Regalado

Instructor: Michael Malpass, TA, Department of English

The Upper-Division Writing Awards 

Award for Best Writing Portfolio or Electronic Portfolio

Kristen Chastain

Instructor: Laura O'Connor, Associate Professor, Department of English

Award for Excellent Upper-Division Academic Writing in Social Sciences and Social Ecology

Lisette Moran

Instructor: Laura E. Enriquez, Associate Professor, Department of Chicano/Latino Studies

Award for Excellent Upper-Division Academic Writing in Humanities and Arts

Juli Ramirez

Instructor: Carrie J. Noland, Professor of French, Department of European Languages and Studies

Award for Best Public or Professional Writing

Abigail Rosas

Esmeralda Martinez

Briana Peterson

Alina Vizcaya Reyes

Instructor: Patrick Hong, Lecturer, Henry Samueli School of Engineering