Current Events

Winter Quarter 2024 Events

Book Circle: Grading for Growth

For many instructors, grading is one of the most vexing aspects of teaching. Join us for our Winter Quarter Book Circle where we will be reading and discussion Grading for Growth by David Clark and Robert Talbert. We will be meeting several times throughout the quarter: Friday, January 12, 9-10am, Friday, February 2, 9-10am, Friday, February 23, 9-10am, Friday, March 8, 9-10am.

Lunchtime Presentation & Discussion: Revising AI Writing

Thursday, February 8, 2024

12:00 pm–1:15 pm

Lunch will be provided for registered attendees

In this lunchtime presentation and discussion, three instructors will briefly share how they have used AI tools to generate a first draft of a document that students then substantially revise.

Presenters: Dr. Audrey Chen Lew (Department of Neurobiology & Behavior), Dr. Stephen Mang (Department of Chemistry), Dr. Hugh Roberts (Department of English)

 

Workshops

Each workshop is offered twice—once in person with refreshments, and once online.

Designing Authentic Writing Assignments

Facilitated by Matthew Luskey, Coordinator, WAC+WID

In-person Workshop:  Wednesday, January 17, 2-3:30pm, Science Library 193

Online Workshop: Thursday, January 18, 3:00-4:30pm

Designing Engaging Multimodal Assignments

Facilitated by Leah Senatro, GSR, CWCC

In-person Workshop: Thursday, February 1, 2-3:30pm, Science Library 193

Online Workshop: Friday, February 2, 10:00-11:30am

Writing to Learn Activities

Facilitated by Matthew Luskey, Coordinator, WAC+WID

In-person Workshop: Tuesday, February 13, 2-3:30pm, Science Library 193

Online Workshop: Wednesday, February 14, 9:00-10:30am

Equitable Approaches to Grading Student Writing

Facilitated by Matthew Luskey, Coordinator, WAC+WID

In-person Workshop: Thursday, February 29, 2:00-3:30pm, Science Library 193

Online Workshop: Friday, March 1, 10:00-11:30am